History & Overview

What are Soil and Water Conservation Districts?

Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs) exist in most counties of the United States. They are legally defined as subdivisions of State government, but they function as local units. There are 92 Indiana SWCDs putting conservation on the ground. The results are cleaner water; more productive crop, pasture, and forest lands; and vibrant wildlife habitat.

History of the Tippecanoe Soil and Water Conservation District

Tippecanoe County TownshipsThe Tippecanoe District was organized through a public referendum held in 1940 in accordance with the Indiana Soil Conservation Act to conserve soil and water resources, control and prevent soil erosion, protect water quality, reduce flood damage, and further the conservation development, use, and disposal of water. At its origin, only five townships were served by and included in the District. Over the course of time, the District has come to serve all of Tippecanoe County, including the once excluded cities of Lafayette and West Lafayette, as well as the smaller towns.

The Tippecanoe Soil and Water Conservation District strives to make natural resources as economically viable and environmentally healthy as possible by equipping residents with knowledge, financial resources, and motivation to make Tippecanoe County a great place to live and work.

Why the Tippecanoe Soil and Water Conservation District is Important

The District:


Site by Consistent Image Web Design